Ah, Easter….I hope everyone had a relaxing, wonderful Easter Sunday.  Very traditional and typical on my end: church in the morning, family gatherings in the afternoon.

Growing up, my parents always gave my brother and I a top-notch Easter egg hunt.  My Dad would hide the eggs in the most creative places.  Sometimes too creative.  I remember one day about four months after Easter when I was probably 9 or 10 years old going to get something out of a drawer in our living room.  Tucked away in a far, dark corner of the drawer I spotted what looked like a painted egg. Of course, it’s July, it couldn’t possibly be!  I clasp my little hand around it and…yea, you can imagine what happened next.  The rotting egg’s soft shell collapsed in my hand, spewing green, smelly liquid that used to be yolk  all over me and in the drawer.  I think Mom banned him from hiding eggs in such out-of-the-way places in subsequent years.

Nothing like children to bring out the holiday spirit! CAPTION:  My nephew, Cooper, finds an egg.

Since I don’t have children of my own to post pictures of – at least not yet:) – I thought I’d share a few snapshots of my niece and nephew on Rachel’s side searching for eggs.  I do have two nieces on my side of the family, but they did their egg search on another day.

Caption:  My niece Reese on the hunt…..

