What to post on the personal blog?  That’s the challenge question….  Over on the Amish Cook website, well, that’s easy…I write about all things Amish, Mennonite, or otherwise plain.  My wife says just write about whatever is on my mind here or just share a little bit about myself.  Easier said than done!

I hope everyone had a great weekend and enjoyed the sunny, weirdly warm weather for mid-March.  We spent a lot of Sunday at the one-year birthday party for my nephew.  I was going to post about that today, but maybe tomorrow  instead. Because this morning I had to run over to my parents house for a second and that inspired me to write about a topic. While there I stepped into my old bedroom which has now turned into a sort of guest-room, sort of spare room, sort of old-belongings of mine that no one knows what to do with room….Rachel’s childhood bedroom at her Mom’s is sort of in the same state.  There’s a motley collection of old things from her growing-up years still in there: old college books, high school bulletin board photos, notebooks, and knick-knacks. Most of the important stuff she took with her, so what’s left in both cases is just sort of the childhood crumbs.  Occasionally my parents encourage me to go over to their house and remove my stuff (what, and then fill MY house with a bunch of unwanted items??:). But, really, what ARE you supposed to do with an adult child’s bedroom?  While in my old bedroom this morning (not sure why my parents have this on my old bureau) I found a cherished childhood item that I may have to bring back to my place sometime: the Popeye bowl.  Wow, how I used to love to eat my cereal from this bowl when I was 5, 6, or 7 years old.  I’d eat extra quick so I could gradually uncover Popeye staring back at me from beneath the Captain Crunch (maybe I should have used it for Spinach). I loved Popeye cartoons when I was a kid.  I never have been 100 percent sure whether the big bad guy’s was Bluto or Brutus? Or maybe there were two?

